#TheReadingQuest: results and the feels

Hey, everyone!
I took part in the recent #TheReadingQuest readathon created by Aentee of Readatmidnight. In this post I’d like to share with you what books I’ve completed and my thoughts after reading them.
During this readathon you choose a character and read all the books designated to that character. For every task completed you are awarded EXP and HP points. You can also complete side quests. The person, who gets the most points awarded to him/her, is the champion of #TheReadingQuest!
I chose the Mage path, so I’ve built my TBR of mostly fantasy books.
I can’t believe some people read 25 books and completed all of the quests. Where did they find time?!
tenor
As for me, I’ve managed to complete 8 books and the Mage quest.
Level – Mage 4
XP – 150
HP – 285
Week 1 
I started off the readathon strong by completing “Sabriel” by Garth Nix and “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” by Newt Scamander (aka J.K.Rowling) in just two or three days. But things went downhill since then and I ended up finishing only one book during the second week.
Sabriel_(AU)
“Fear and realization of ignorance were strong medicines against stupid pride.” 

Quest – A book with a one word title
HP gained –  10 + 44
XP gained – 10 + 10
Level – 1
Favourite character – Mogget

I liked this book. Sabriel became one of the few female protagonists that I didn’t want to kill, so that’s a good sign, right?
I enjoyed the fact that Sabriel wasn’t an almighty kickass hero. She learned from her mistakes and her power grew steadily. At the same time she wasn’t someone who depended on “a strong male presence”. She was somewhere in the middle and I really appreciated that.
What I didn’t appreciate, though, is how fast Sabriel and Touchstone fell for each other. That’s my problem with YA in general – I guess, I just don’t believe in love at first sight. I mean, yes, they experience adventures, challenges and life-threatening situations together, I get it. They can LIKE each other, I don’t mind that, but they talk about LOVING each other more than anyone they’ve ever met. C’mon. It’s not like any of them dated other people before.
Let’s talk about Mogget. Oh my god. His behavior and sarcastic remarks made the book imho. Almost every single time he said or did something, I just laughed out loud. He is one of my favourite sidekicks from now on.
My rating – 4 out of 5

51iMJ+zBW8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Imperfect understanding is often more dangerous than ignorance.”


Quest – A book that contains magic
HP gained – 54 + 5
XP gained – 20 + 10
Level – 1

I was happy to learn more about creatures of Potterverse. Some of the descriptions were really cute and funny as the book was written by Newt Scamander and we all know what an adorable cupcake he is.
My rating – 4 out of 5 

Week 2
Only read “The Star-touched Queen” by Roshani Chokshi
25203675
“I know your soul. Everything else is just an ornament.”

Quest – A book based on mythology
HP gained – 59 + 28
XP gained – 30 + 20
Level – 2
Favourite characters – Amar (yes, he’s hot ok?!) and Gauri

To be completely honest, I didn’t expect much going into this book, so I can’t say that I was disappointed with it.
I didn’t always understand the reasoning for things the main character did. I also found her a bit too quick to trust others. She began to trust Amar not so long after they met, but turned her back on him as soon as she was told to do so by some “ghost” of a friend she didn’t even remember. Too fast.
On the other hand, the author’s writing is really beautiful and I enjoyed the way she introduced us to Indian mythology.
My rating – 4 out of 5  

Week 3
I finally pulled myself together and managed to finish three books, which has never happened to me before! I read “One of us is lying” by Karen McManus, “Six of crows” by Leigh Bardugo and “Because you love to hate me” anthology.
31450752
“In the absence of an enemy, our beloved protagonists are left kicking rocks in the Shire or taking tea and biscuits in a mind-numbingly cheery Spare Oom.”

Quest – Open world. Read whatever
HP gained – 87 + 32
XP gained – 50 + 10
Level – 2

What I enjoyed the most about this anthologyis the fact that I got a chance to familiarize myself with the authors I haven’t read from before.
The stories were so well-written and so gripping that I couldn’t put the book down and got sad every time the story came to an end, because I definitely wanted MORE!
The story about teenage Lancelot and Guinevere, written by Soman Chainani, was absolutely hilarious. But through the humor it also showed another perspective on villainy, because the antagonist of this story was clearly not someone we usually see as a “bad guy” in books.
I really enjoyed Susan Dennard’s take on Sherlock/Moriarty relationship and nearly cried for Marissa Meyer’s sea witch and Cindy Pon’s Medusa.
In general, I think this collaboration of writers and booktubers was worth waiting for.
My rating – 3 out of 5

32571395
“I guess we’re almost friends now, or as friendly as you can get when you’re not one hundred percent sure the other person isn’t framing you for murder.”

Quest – Multiplayer. Buddy read a book
HP gained – 119 + 32
XP gained – 60 + 10
Level – 2
Favourite characters – Nate and Addy

I LOVED this book. I liked the backgrounds of all the characters and how they developed throughout the story. I also appreciated the diversity of the cast.
I suspected from the very beginning, who the killer was, but I didn’t expect that XXX was helping that person out. It was a bit of a shocker for me. When I found out about it, I was, like, “You little motherf***”.
I really enjoyed Addy’s perspective. She is the person who has grown the most, having escaped from an unhealthy relationship, overcome public shaming and changed her own perception of herself. She found her strength.
My rating – 5 out of 5  

91WEx42EdiL
“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.” 

Quest – A book set in a different world
HP gained – 151 + 58
XP gained – 70 + 10
Level – 2
Favourite characters – Kaz, Inej, Matthias

I can talk about this book for hours (now that I’ve finally read it), because I loved it sooo much!
Leigh Bardugo is a true magician, because she created such a captivating world and such complex characters. They are by no means heroes – they are flawed and cruel. You shouldn’t want to be friends with them. But they are sooooo good in terms of storytelling. You can’t help but follow their journey and see where their recklessness and genius brings them.
My rating – 5 out of 5

Week 4
This was a slow week for me again. I completed “Falling Kingdoms” by Morgan Rhodes and “Our dark duet” by V.E.Schwab.
12954620
“Magic will find those with pure hearts, even when all seems lost.” 

Quest – The first book of the series
HP gained – 209 + 44
XP gained – 80 + 10 + 50 (Mage Quest completed)
Level – 3
Favourite character – Magnus Damora

Well, at least I finished the book…
It took me the longest to get into the story. I just couldn’t care less about the characters and their storylines. Cleiona annoys me so freaking much!
The only plotline that interests me is Magnus and his feelings towards his sister. I know that it sounds gross and wrong, but I can’t help it.
I hope the next book is better.
My rating – 2 out of 5

32075662
“There were two kinds of monsters, the kind that hunted the streets and the kind that lived in your head. She could fight the first, but the second was more dangerous. It was always, always, always a step ahead.”

Quest – Grind. A book with 500+ pages
HP gained – 253 + 32
XP gained – 140 + 10
Level – 4
Favourite characters – August, Ilsa and Soro Flynn

I can’t really say much about the book. It is dark and I loved it.
I especially liked the new gender fluid character – Soro. I wish I could read more about him.
August is my precious cinnamon roll.
My rating – 4 out of 5
What have you read recently?

Links:
My Instagram – https://instagram.com/samjungreads
My Twitter – https://twitter.com/SamJungReads
The Reading Quest Sign Up post –
Disclaimer: None of the pictures are mine. All rights belong to their respective owners.

 

Leave a Reply

